I had such a wonderful experience this morning, that I simply had to make a record of it and share.

I was blessed to hear another wonderful teaching last Tuesday on the amazing matter of the aleph tav– את.  The aleph tav is a little two Hebrew letter word/phrase/connector found in the Hebrew TaNaK that is not and never has been translated into any language of Scripture. It is used over 7,000 times in the Hebrew TaNaK, and it is also found in the Messianic Writings in the Book of Revelation to identify Who it is that is speaking with Yochanan (John):

“I am the ‘Aleph’ and the ‘Taw’, Beginning and End,” says YaHUaH “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.” Revelation 1:8

The teaching of the Aleph Tav is quite extensive and I will not get into that here. Additionally, we are still learning about it. Suffice it to say that for me – The Almighty in Revelation chapter 1 verse 8 above states that He IS the Aleph Tav – He is the Strength of the Covenant. In Hebrew, aleph came from a paleoHebrew picture of an ox head and had the meaning of strength, first, head and the taw is the picture of crossed sticks with a meaning of mark, covenant, or monument.

There are several references throughout Scripture concerning a seal, a mark, a sign upon people (Jeremiah and Revelation) and/or things (like tabernacle furniture). The את is also found immediately proceeding direct objects within Scripture.

Pastor Taylor from Beit Lechem Ministries was teaching on this and he was right concerning— what good is the knowledge of the aleph tav if there is nothing that I can do with it? How is the knowledge of this aleph tav working in my daily walk, my halakhah with my Creator?

I was reminded of the verse in Colossians

“… to whom Elohim desired to make known what are the riches of the esteem of this secret among the gentiles: which is Messiah in you, the expectancy of esteem.” Colossians 1:27

I have had some difficult couple of weeks/days where I work with people and personalities. Quite frankly I have not been settled or pleased with my words, thoughts, or actions in some specific situations and it has been causing me some unrest in my spirit. There has been an uncleanness moving through the folks at work and this uncleanness has made its way to my office.

The last few couple of times I had an opportunity to “do well” – I feel that I have failed. And so, the combination of the knowledge of the Aleph Tav and recent events has had me in a bit of a tizzy as to how to change my habits.

You see, prior to these last few days of the disappointing incidents, I had determined that I was going to walk in such a way as to literally be wearing the aleph tav. It was, in my mind, on my person, on my forehead and I would know… that because I am literally wearing the aleph tav, I will be able to focus on being like YaHUshA, my Savior. I soon realized that when I am by myself, I have no trouble remembering that I am wearing the Aleph Tav. As soon as someone approaches me and engages me in conversation — the Aleph Tav is forgotten and the memory of it does not return until several minutes or hours after I am alone again. This was eye opening and very troubling to me!

My goal is to wear the Aleph Tav and keep it on me at all times and in all situations … in essence….. to be like YaHUshA. 

On Shabbat, I heard a very convicting round table discussion on bitterness and how bitterness can just really really harm our walk in Messiah. I knew I had bitterness concerning people at my work. What was I going to do? I am failing at wearing the Aleph Tav AND I have bitterness! This is terrible and MUST stop!

So on the first day, in the morning (stay with me, this is where it gets good) – I am still contemplating in prayer on how this matter is going to be resolved in my life and asking for Father to help me. I am going through ideas on how to get this thing accomplished… to wear the Aleph Tav in consistency and Truth.

I have an idea: I will write the Aleph Tav… את  on me, in ink, on my hand, so that I can look at it when someone approaches me to talk and before I speak and all throughout my day. Then a thought came to me — no, I cannot do that for it is much too much like a tattoo and I am not to write on my body. Then another thought — I will write the Aleph Tav on a piece of paper and TAPE that piece of paper to my wrist so that I can ‘see it’

Then!

Like a prevailing wind!

I saw it and I REALLY, REALLY understood. Brothers and sisters, what I have just described to you is a principle that comes straight out of our Fathers Instructions —

 

“And you shall lay up these Words of Mine in your heart and in your being, and shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.”

Deuteronomy 11:18, 6:8

I hope and pray this story of my experience has been a blessing to you, and that all of us who are desiring to be transformed to the proper Image of our Set-apart and Perfect Creator and Redeemer, can continue to strive towards that mark. Shalom!

