There are many versions of the Name of The Messiah today and sometimes it is difficult for me to understand exactly why this is. I know that His Hebrew Name was hidden from the “church” for a couple thousand years due to the Greek translations of the Hebrew/Aramaic Apostolic writings. His Name was translated as Jesus- which fits nothing whatsoever of the truth.

Now that the Holy One of Israel is awakening His lost sheep, the House of Israel, and also the House of Judah – many many more are starting to realize that The Messiah has a Hebrew Name and desire to call Him by His True Name.

Here are some of the choices:

Y’shua, Yeshua, Yahshua, Yehoshua, Yahushua, Yahuwshuwah.

Where does this idea that His Name ends in “shua” come from?

Many times in the TaNaK (what some call the Old Testament), the word for salvation does contain the Hebrew letters: שוע  which is an ‘sh’ ‘u’ and ‘a’ – giving the sound ‘shua’. But in all these instances, when looked up in the Strong’s concordance, it will tell us that the word yeshuwah is a “form” of the Hebrew root 03467.

First mention of the word salvation is found in Genesis 49:18 where we find the phrase “thy salvation” which is H03444  – see below.

ישועה yeshuw`ah {yesh-oo’-aw} passive participle of 03467; TWOT – 929b; n f AV – salvation 65, help 4, deliverance 3, health 3, save 1, saving 1, welfare 1; 78 1) salvation, deliverance 1a) welfare, prosperity 1b) deliverance 1c) salvation (by God) 1d) victory

In Exodus 15:2 we see the phrase “my salvation” also given the Strong’s 03444 and is לישועה  also demonstrating the “shuah” ending. But again, this is a passive participle of 03467.

In Deuteronomy 32:15 we find a different spelling for “his salvation” rendered: ישעתו  which would be yahshatu – with no shua found EVEN THOUGH the Strong’s still gives this word the H03444 reference.

This type of reference and designation goes on and on throughout the TaNaK.

In 2 Samuel 22:3 when David says “horn of my salvation” and “my savior thou savest me” all three times the word is: ישע  or yasha  H03467.

The Hebrew word for save is yasha, Strong’s H03467  ישע yasha` {yaw-shah’} a primitive root; TWOT – 929; v AV – save 149, saviour 15, deliver 13, help 12, preserved 5, salvation 3, avenging 2, at all 1, avenged 1, defend 1, rescue 1, safe 1, victory 1; 205 1) to save, be saved, be delivered 1a) (Niphal) 1a1) to be liberated, be saved, be delivered 1a2) to be saved (in battle), be victorious 1b) (Hiphil) 1b1) to save, deliver 1b2) to save from moral troubles 1b3) to give victory to.

To explore the Hebrew word shua, we can find it in 1 Chronicles.

1 Chronicle 2:3 “The sons of YaHUdaH: Er, and Onan, and Shelah, the three born to him by the daughter of Shuwa, the Kena’anitess… ”

1 Chronicles 7:32 “And Heber brought forth Yaphlet, and Shumer, and Hotham, and their sister Shuwa.”

This word is Strong’s H7774

שועא Shuwa`a’ {shoo-aw’} from 07768;; n pr f AV – Shua 2; 2 Shua = “wealth” 1) an Asheritess, daughter of Heber and sister to Japhlet, Shomer, and Hotham

Next I looked at the name of one of the powerful Messiah type shadow’s in the TaNaK and that is Joshua, son of Nun. People even call him Yahoshua and Yeshua, and Yehewshua and other forms. What I found in the Jewish Publication Society Hebrew to English Scriptures was the following for the name of Joshua.

יהושע

These Hebrew letters are: yod, hey, uau, shin, ayin. Y – ah-u-sh-a. Yahusha. So I do not see at all how one would say or spell Joshua as Yehoshua or Yahuawshua. To me, the letters say: Yahusha, just like our Messiah’s Name.

Even in ZekarYAH 3:8 where there is a picture of Joshua the High Priest and the mention of Messiah as My Servant THE BRANCH we read:

“Now listen, יהושע the high priest, you and your companions who sit before you, for they are men of symbol. For look, I am bringing forth My Servant – the Branch.”

Even in the Scriptures, which I use and love, the writers wrote: Yehoshua. But this is simply NOT what the name is by the Hebrew letters. The Hebrew letters are: yod, hey, uau, shin, ayin — Yahusha!

So, everyone can use, spell, write, pronounce whatever name they think is correct. I am not here to convince or mandate anyone must agree with me.

I have produced this study for myself, to express my own findings when I researched the topic with resources and much prayer. I too, learned the name of Jesus first, then it was Yeshua, then Yahushua. But because they were all different – I had to say “wait just a minute, something is going on and I must find out for myself.” Sometimes I think we are so afraid of saying we did not have something just right, that we tend to get stuck. I remind myself though, that my Father desires for me to be a disciple and humble servant. This means He can continue to teach me and I will be moulded into what He wants me to be. I cannot remain stagnant in my learning and in my walking.

I will use the Name YaHUSHA Messiah.

