Barley

 

I am so full of joy to able to share with you what has been in the works since last November (2013). If this post is the first post you are reading, you can find this journey I began last November by clicking here:

https://segulah.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/barley-for-first-fruits-updated/

Yesterday (the day between the first day of Unleavened Bread and the weekly Sabbath), I spent threshing the harvested barley we planted in November. I found that not all the barley was ripe. Much of it was and it was easily threshed, but some of it was still too green. I learned that if it still has a lot of hair – it is not quite ready. But I threshed what I could.

I threshed the bikkur barley first in order to keep it seperate. I had marked the first ripe sheaths as they matured with a blue ribbon of yarn so that I would know which ones were the first. The bikkur seems to be the part we are focusing on. “Why?” you might ask, and “what does bikkur mean?”

Well, the instruction is this:

Bring the first of the first-fruits of your land into the House of YaHUaH your Alohim.” Exodus 23:19

When you come into the land which I give you, and shall reap its harvest, then you shall bring a sheaf of the first-fruits of your harvest to the priest. And he shall wave the sheaf before Yahuah, for your acceptance. On the morrow after the Sabbath the priest wavest it. Leviticus 23:10-11

H1061 bikkuwr {bik-koor’} from 01069; TWOT – 244e; n m pl AV – firstfruit 14, firstripe 2, firstripe figs 1,hasty fruit 1; 18 1) first-fruits 1a) the first of the crops and fruit that ripened, was gathered, and offered to God according to the ritual of Pentecost 1b) the bread made of the new grain offered at Pentecost 1c) the day of the first-fruits (Pentecost)

H01060 bekowr {bek-ore’} from 01069; TWOT – 244a; n m AV – firstborn 101, firstling 10, eldest 4, firstborn + 01121 1, eldest son 1; 117 1) firstborn, firstling 1a) of men and women 1b) of animals 1c) noun of relation (fig.)

H1069 bakar {baw-kar’} a primitive root; TWOT – 244; v AV – firstborn 1, new fruit 1, firstling 1, first child; 4 1) to be born first 1a) (Piel) 1a1) to bear early, new fruit 1a2) to give the right of the firstborn 1a2a) to make as firstborn 1a2b) to constitute as firstborn 1b) (Pual) 1b1) to be born a firstling 1b2) to be made a firstling 1c) (Hiphil) one bearing her first child

Now when I was researching this topic of the bikkurim and the Day of First-fruits (Yom HaBikkurim) I became very troubled by a couple of things.

One was, the fact that I searched the entire Torah and then the rest of Scripture, and I could find no reference or instruction stating plainly that the bikkuwr offering was barley! Nowhere, it is just not in Scripture. It is not even in the primary instruction found in Leviticus 23. This was quite upsetting to me. Not only because it is just one more thing that we have been “taught” that looked like it too – was turning out to be false, but more importantly upset because that means I was doing something that now appears may not even be correct.

So I got up this morning while I was fresh and researched barley throughout Scripture. Now taking all of Scripture into account with all the references to harvests, grains, offerings, etc. – It does appear that barley was one of the primary crops in the land and that it does reach maturity early… earlier than wheat. So at this point… I am of the position that “assuming” the use of barley for first fruits offering is all right and most likely correct.

The second thing is this: the exact material for the first-fruits offering is not given through the instruction, neither in Leviticus nor elsewhere. I found that almost 80% of the references to first-fruits has to do with the Festival of the Harvest (Ex 23) which is Shavuot and the wheat harvest. So it would seem, that Father Yahuah does not insist that the Bikkurim offering be barley, only that the first fruits of our harvest be dedicated to Him not only to show we recognize that He and He alone gives grain in its season and for our food, but to show we honor Him by giving Him the first so that He is blessed and we are blessed.

Then there is a third matter also – which I am only now realizing. I am not sure if it is because we actually sowed, cared for, and harvested our barley for the offering this year and thereby received greater insight, wisdom, and understanding. But I realized something in my spirit first and then I checked the Word I received in Scripture and it was true.

The Offering of First-Fruits on the morrow after the Sabbath during the week of Unleavened Bread is an offering that comes from our harvest.

Did you catch it? It is the first fruits of our harvest. The first fruits of OUR HARVEST. In other words, this offering of first fruits comes from OUR sowing, OUR cultivating, OUR cutting, OUR threshing.

Here is the instruction:

When you come into the land which I give you, and shall reap its harvest, then you shall bring a sheaf of the first-fruits OF YOUR HARVEST to the priest. Leviticus 23:10

I am seeing, now, that this offering cannot be wild growing barley. Wild growing barley seems to me not to qualify. I did not work for it, I did not toil for it, I would not even harvest it. It is barley that YaHUaH grew in the elements and it belongs to Him. Of course, all things belong to Him but what I am noticing is that I did not work for that barley and so how can I offer it up as an offering to Him? It does not seem right or fitting.

So in my heart, mind, and soul – I do not believe the wild growing barely that is used to proclaim a new year in Israel is appropriate. I never thought of this particular issue with the aviv barley process until this year as I went through this process. And the instruction is right there if we just take time to truly read what it says. The offering is from our harvest: what we ploughed, sowed, cared for, weeded, cut down, and thrashed.

If I have not toiled for something, it does not seem to be that much of an offering.

0 R

This morning, we offered up our Bikkurim barley with salt and we praised Yahuah for all His great blessings and asked for His acceptance of us and the work of our hands. It was lovely.

Happy Yom Bikkurim!

HallaluYAH – HE IS RISEN!

 

