Shalom to Everyone!

I want to share our Shabuot (Feast of Weeks) with you. This Shabuot was extra special for many reasons.

As I shared previously in other articles, sometimes keeping the Festivals of YaHUah can present some difficulties in our world today. We are not really farmers many of us anymore which is sad. Historically, when my husband and I have read our Fathers instructions on what He wants us to do in keeping His Feasts and in bringing to Him what He desires, we have felt a bit empty-handed in that we did not know what to do today.

For me personally, my heart and my spirit are full of joy to have the opportunity to be called to keep His feasts and realize now, what they are, when they are, and how important they are. But… as the day arrives there has always been a “let-down” because I soon realize after reading the instruction for the feast… that we don’t have what we need to fulfill the instruction. We are then left to just read it and keep the day. Although that alone is a HUGE blessing to us, it is just not the same as being able to do what He asks with my hands – in addition to my heart, mind, and soul. It seems something is missing. Perhaps it is the “strength” part. Hmmmm something to think about there, right?

My strength comes from my hands and my feet – movement. A visual in the physical realm. Phew! that is a lot to think about and I am getting off on a tangent. Let me get back to sharing Shabuot.

If you follow Segulah’s Blog, you know that I have been gardening for the first time. This is my second summer and it is going great! Better than the wild west experience I had las summer AND we were blessed with lots of dew from heaven early on in the season which is truly a blessing out here in West Texas.

Well guess what? This year I planted wheat in addition to the vegetables [and barley :)]

Actually, I planted Kamut — which is an ancient grain (wheat). How shocked I was at how very very large it was! as compared to the Barley. Huge heads of grain and it was absolutely beautiful!  Here are some pictures of our Kamut:

IMG_0806

Kamut heads of grain

Kamut heads of grain

Huge Kamut berries getting ready to be brought forth

Huge Kamut berries getting ready to be brought forth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had about a 2 foot by 2 foot area where I planted them and it was a wonderful experience to grow them and see them.

IMG_0849

Two weeks before Shabuot was to arrive (Shabuot for us was last sun-day 6 July), I had harvested most all the wheat and hanged it upside down to dry. I spent several hours removing the heads of grain from their coverings. Which, by the way, was waaaaaaaay easier than the barley from the Unleavened Bread Festival. Wonder what that means: that barley is much more difficult to get grain from than wheat. The wheat berries just fall right out with a squeeze, but that barley! Phew it took a lot of work!

Also of note was the fact that my wheat never would have been ripe a month earlier when everyone else was keeping the feast of Shabuot in early June. I realize I do not live in the “Land” of Israel but Texas lies on the same latitude lines as does the “Land” of Israel and also in the same hemisphere. I am not sure how they would have had wheat for making their loaves.

So here is a picture of some of the wheat from our harvest:

Harvested Kamut

Harvested Kamut

 

 

As I separated the wheat from the chaff, I placed them aside. I will keep them and let them dry out for next season and planting. I do not have a large enough plot of land to grow enough wheat for two loaves of bread so I will be using wheat we purchased for the bread.

 

 

Kamut for next planting season

Kamut for next planting season

 

 

 

 

So as of Shabuot morning, we had gone through plowing and planting, watering and waiting, watching and growing, harvesting and threshing. Now if we had enough wheat, we would begin grinding it to make fine flour… but we don’t… so.

 

IMG_0866

 

 

 

 

I got out my grain mill, our wheat from storage and began    grinding.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0867

 

 

It sure does take A LOT of wheat to make a cup. I was moving right along quite quickly when I remembered, “Ah! I bet I need to sift this. It looks kinda heavy and like it is not going to back up too well.”

Sure enough, I checked the instructions from Scripture and YaHUaH says, “Fine flour, two tenths of an ephah.”

 

 

IMG_0869

 

 

 

 

What you see here is the unsifted wheat flour. It heaps up quickly enough. But after sifting… um…. back to the grinder with more wheat 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is me sifting, sifting, sifting….

IMG_0870

 

 

IMG_0871

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With some research online, I found out that two tenths of an ephah of fine flour is going to be about 8 cups!!!!!

Fine Flour

Fine Flour

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we ended up with about three and a half cups (which is only about 1 tenth of an ephah) and I made braided challah bread “with leaven” to make our two loaves for the offering. I will need to plan better next year for the amount of wheat I now know it is going to take.

But we joyfully offered our two loaves of fine flour baked with leaven and also our offering of salt. It was a great time of worship to YaHUaH and so wonderful to actually be able to do the instruction with our hands…. to Love YaHUaH with all of our heart, mind, soul, AND STRENGTH!

