Have you ever had something consuming your mind and thoughts that you know is of no consequence to you but you just cannot let it go? Well, this is me and this topic of Gog. Gog is such a mystery isn’t he? And yet, I know it is somewhat of a waste of time to even be concerned with Gog because of the timing of his appearance in history. Unless he is one of these character “types” that our Father gives us in His Book of Love, then this exercise is certainly not a waste of time.

Either way… my plan is to go ahead and put out there all my thoughts, findings, study notes, etc — and find a way to get it out of my head and onto paper. Perhaps this emptying will help me move on to something else.

Let me start by sharing something of significant note in my mind about the Gog. I hear many bible teachers bring him up with his friends: Magog, Rosh, Meshek, Tubal and how the Gog Magog war is coming soon and we are near the war of the end and that this is Russia and on and on and on it goes. But here is what I cannot get away from…

When “I” read the scripture related to this character, I read that he and his fellows are not showing up to be dealt with by YaHUaH until *after* the thousand year Reign of King David. I have got to get this fact out there first and foremost. Now, if anyone can prove me wrong or show me where I am wrong — please do! Please leave me a comment or something and show me what I am missing here. This is why I kind of feel it is a matter for me not to be concerned with and yet I am. Perhaps it is do to the dichotomy of what I actually *hear* from teachers and then what I actually “read” for myself. Perhaps that is where all the consumption is coming from?

Now the first mention of Gog, as a person (and you will understand why I say as a person later on in this study) is in Ezekiel Chapter 38. Ezekiel is telling us about a war that is coming between our Mighty One, YaHUaH Alohim, and a group of rebellious and warlike peoples. These hordes of warlike men of battle, armed to the teeth, are going to come and try to take a spoil from YaHUaH. As they do so… at YaHUaH’s command mind you… they are going to be utterly destroyed by Him and He is to display His great might and wrath and character in the sight of all the nations — to ESTEEM His Name.

There is no disagreement on this account of what is going to take place, so the “what” is answered clearly and all (I think) agree on this. Now we have remaining the “who” and “when.” I am addressing the “when” first.

Ezekiel 38:8a

After many days you shall be called up.

OK so here we see the beginning of “when.” After many days. Well, that could be now or soon. Ezekiel prophesied this somewhere around 590 BC, and if you have read some of my other posts you understand that we are in the last Jubilee Cycle of this age with only three weeks of seven years left. Pretty close to the end of the age (minus the thousand year reign of cours). This certainly fits the “after many days” phrase here. But we have to read the rest of the verses.

Ezekiel 38:8b

In the latter years you shall come into the land of those brought back from the sword and gathered from many people on the mountains of Yisra’el, which had been a continual waste. But they were brought out of the gentiles, and all of them shall dwell safely.

Uh oh. We now have a problem (at least in my mind). We have not been brought back from the sword yet. In fact, there has not even been a war or sword go through the lands yet. We have not been gathered yet. We do not live on the mountains of Yisra’el. We have not been brought out of the gentiles yet, and most certainly — if you are thinking that “yes, the Jews have” then first of all, there are 12 tribes of Israel, not one only, and secondly surely you are not saying that the Jewish people (who are many of them… not even Jews), are dwelling there in the land of Israel safely. There has been nothing but terror in that land since they first descended upon the people living there in peace before they arrived.

And again in 38:11-12

And you (Gog) shall say, ‘Let me go up against a land of unwalled villages, let me go to those at rest who dwell safely, all of them dwelling without walls, and having neither bars nor gates,’ to take a plunder and to take booty, to stretch out your hand against the waste places that are again inhabited, and against a people gathered from the gentiles, acquiring livestock and goods, who dwell in the middle of the land.

I have highlighted above the distinguishing parts of these verse that simply are not true at this time. Again, if one looks at the land *OF* Israel today, it is certainly not safe, not peaceful, not unwalled or at rest. And just as important… the regathering of Israel from the nations has not occured yet.

Therefore, YaHUaH Himself answers the question of “when” in verse 14

In that day when My people Yisra’el dwell safely, would you (Gog) not know?

This is pretty specific. Chapters 38 and 39 of Ezekile continue on with the prophecy of what will happen to Gog and his hordes and what their end will be. Additionally, I want to drive home this idea of “when” as we further read on towards the end of chapter 39 because YaHUaH further explains to us what has happened throughout history and what He is doing with His people.

Beginning in verse 21 through the end of the chapter 39

And I shall set My esteem among the gentiles. And all gentiles shall see My judgment which I have executed, and My hand which I have laid on them.

And the HOUSE of Yisra’el shall know that I am YaHUaH their Alohim from that day onward. And the gentiles shall know that the HOUSE of Yisra’el went into exile for their crookedness (720 BC), because they have trespassed against Me, so that I hid My face from them, and I gave them into the hand of their adversaries, and they all fell by the sword.

According to their uncleanness and according to their transgressions I have dealt with them, and hidden My face from them.

Therefore thus said the Master YaHUaH, ‘Now I am going to bring back the captives of YA”AQOB. And I shall have compassion on all the HOUSE of Yisra’el, and shall be jealous for My set-apart Name.

And they shall have borne their shame, and all their trespass they committed against Me, when they dwell safely in their own land, with none to make them afraid, when I have brought them back from the peoples and gathered them out of the lands of their enemies. And I shall be set apart in them before the eyes of many gentiles.

And they shall know that I am YaHUaH their Alohim, who sent them into exile among the gentiles, and then gathered them back tot heir own land, and left none of them behind.

And no longer do I hide My face from them, for I shall have poured out My Spirit on the HOUSE of Yisra’el,’ declared the master YaHUaH.

Ah! So we see here, that our glorious Alohim is speaking to ALL the HOUSE of Yisra’el, even the captives of Jacob!! That makes it even MORE people. There are Israelites in all nations in all the world today and we have not been brought back yet. There is to be a second Exodus, led by our King back to “our own land” as our Father tells us. So I don’t know about you, but there is A LOT that must occur before we see Gog and his bands. It is not around the corner it seems to me.

Jews-Against-Zionism

Now let us take a look at what we are told in the Book of Revelation.

And when the thousand years have ended, Satan shall be released from his prison, and he shall go out to lead the nations astray which are in the four corners of the earth, Gog, and Magog, to gather them together for battle, whose number is as the san of the sea.

And they came up over the breadth of the earth and surrounded the camp of the set-apart ones and the beloved city. And fire came down from Alohim out of the heaven and consumed them. Revelation 20:7-9

So once again we are told plainly that Gog and Magog are seen ‘when the thousand years have ended.’ A second witness as to the question of “when” we will see Gog. And both these testimonies seem to agree… that it is when the thousand years era of Messianic Reign, when all Yisra’el (House of Judah, House of Israel and all our companions out of the nations who are ALSO GRAFTED into the vine just as we are/have been) are living and dwelling together. We are at rest, in the land of our inheritance, at peace, our cities are unwalled, and all is well. We are living under the right-ruling of our King and prospering.

And both of these portions of scripture have Gog ending in utter destruction by the Almighty Hand of YaHUaH Himself. Otherwise, I would consider that perhaps this Gog figure is a type of figure here and we could actually experience him in generations throughout time. Perhaps we have seen types of him (which I will discuss in Gog Part 2: The Question of Who) but as for specifically the Gog/Magog war… I just do not see it happening for a loooooong time. This is why I don’t understand it when I hear teachers and preachers warning us all that Gog/Magog is coming and we had better get ready. If this also makes sense to you what I have shared, perhaps it will put your mind and heart at ease.

In Gog Part 2 I will share my thoughts on the “who”

